[Hair Diary Entry] 2017-Jun-07: Soultanicals Wash-and-Go

Today I styled my hair in a (true) wash-and-go featuring Soultanicals Sprung Coil Boosting Gelly. Below are the details. 🙂

Twist out, June 4, 2017
Twist out, June 4, 2017

Preceding Style

My hair was in an old, ponytailed twist out when I began this morning’s wash-and-go. I had done the twist out on Sunday June 4, 2017 after sleeping in 20 twists (2 per section) overnight. Pictured is the original twist out, which I wore in a ponytail on June 5th and June 6th.

Products Used to Style Today’s Wash-and-Go

My Soultanicals Sprung Coil Boosting Gelly had arrived Monday, June 5th, but I couldn’t use it that day because I needed to get more life out of my twist out. (I am trying to reduce the number of times that I handle/detangle my hair to 1-2 times MAXIMUM per week.) When I woke up this morning and saw that my ponytailed twist out had lost definition and was looking like a ponytailed struggle ‘fro 😛 , I wasn’t tooooo disappointed. 🙂 That meant I could trial the new-to-me Soultanicals Gelly! 😀

Product combination selection isn’t yet second-nature to me. It still helps me if I think it through. So I opened up Microsoft OneNote on my cell phone and tapped out my plan for my wash-and-go. I have found that what I mentally come up with before I open MS OneNote is almost always different from what I come up with on paper, when I think it through a little more thoroughly. Hopefully product combination selection will become second-nature to me as time goes on. 🙂

Products I ended up using for this morning’s wash-and-go after I sectioned my hair into 6 sections using my Kimmaytube-recommended Ouchless Goody Updo Barrettes (see her Luv Naturals website):

  1. Scalp cleanser: Cantu ACV Rinse . . . massaged into my scalp (cool tingles ensued!)
  2. Strands cleanser: J.R. Liggetts Coconut and Argan Oil Shampoo Bar . . . (an AH-MAZING detangler; too stripping, though)
  3. Conditioner: DevaCurl Decadence One Condition . . . steamed in, in the shower, and only partially rinsed out (I was going to skip this at first, but the shampoo bar ended up being too stripping to skip this)
  4. Hydrator: Aloe Vera juice . . . applied in shower in sections to soaking wet hair
  5. Oil: My version of the CurlyProverbz DIY Hair Growth Oil . . . applied to my ends only
  6. Styler (gel): Soultanicals Sprung Coil Boosting Gelly . . . applied section by section until each section felt slimy

Results

I think I really, really like this gel. Next time I’m going to cocktail it with Kinky Curly Coiling Custard to see what happens. Today, I have defined coils with a strong hold and no crunch. My hair feels soft and luxurious.

NOTE: I used a microfiber towel to remove excess water from my hair before applying oil and gel, and when I did, I noticed I had very little curl definition at my roots. Applying the gel helped some and reduced frizz at the roots, but my roots are still somewhat less defined than usual. I wonder how much of that stems from the stripping nature of the J.R. Liggetts Coconut and Argan Oil Shampoo Bar.

 

Leave a Reply

