[Product Review] First-impression of J.R. Liggetts Coconut & Argan Oil Shampoo Bar

First-impression of the J.R. Liggetts Coconut & Argan Oil Shampoo Bar

Backstory

I decided to try the J.R. Liggetts shampoo bars after reading a review that said these bars perform similarly to the 22nd Century Natural Woman shampoo bars. YouTube’s 22nd Century Natural Woman has grown her hair and her daughters’ hair to astonishing lengths, using her own homemade hair products. She sells her products, and I have had jar-dropping experiences with her shampoo bar. When I heard that the J.R. Liggetts shampoo bars perform similarly, I had to check it out.

IMPORTANT WARNING

These types of natural shampoo bars may only work well on hair that has been detoxed of synthetic ingredients. The 22nd Century Natural Woman recommends detoxing the hair with bentonite clay.

Product Review

Product:

J.R. Liggetts Coconut & Argan Oil Shampoo Bar

Ingredients:

Saponified Olive Oil, Coconut Oil, Castor Oil, Sunflower Oil, and RSPO Palm Kernel Oil; Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Argan Oil, Vitamin E; – NO FRAGRANCE ADDED –

Availability:

Available from the J.R. Liggetts website and other such sites. Also, one can check the local Whole Foods. I imagine that likely just the ORIGINAL formula would be available at the local Whole Foods, but it’s worth a check for additional formulations.

Scent:

Largely undetectable

Cost:

$7.49 for 3.5 ounces on the J.R. Liggetts website, but a bar will last a long time, especially if it’s cut before use and used one piece at a time

Consistency:

A solid bar, like a typical soft bar soap

Performance:

    • Suds-ability: 10
    • Slip: 9.5
    • Detangle-ability: 10
      WOWWWWWWW. I detangled my whole head in 35 minutes IN THE SHOWER (unheard of for me), in 6 sections. My super super duper duper fine strands REFUSED to knot as I pulled them apart using the elongate-peel-and-shingle method. The slip!!!
    • Cleansing effect: Yielded SQUEAKY clean hair . . . I literally HEARD squeaking!!! My hair had a stripped feeling post-wash. I would be AFRAID to rinse this bar from my fine TANGLED hair. The moisturizing version/formula/bar is not stripping, and I adore it!!! The J.R. Liggetts Shampoo Bar, Moisturizing Formulation, is my HOLY GRAIL cleanser! 😀

What I’d change/improve if anything:

I’d make this shampoo bar non-stripping, if I could

Personal repurchase???:

No. This bar is too stripping of my hair. I instead will repurchase the MOISTURIZING formulation of the J.R. Liggetts Shampoo Bar, which is holy grail for me.

2 thoughts on “[Product Review] First-impression of J.R. Liggetts Coconut & Argan Oil Shampoo Bar

  1. Very thorough! Quite outstanding, and you’ve inspired me to purchase the sample pack. I can’t wait to try them all! How would you describe your hair?

    Like

Leave a Reply

