[Hair Diary Entry] 2017-Jun-09: Overnight WnG Stretching Fail; Today’s Practice Styling!

Overnight Wash-and-Go Stretching Fail

Usually I band my hair at night to preserve (and also stretch) my wash-and-go. However, someone shared with me a video of YouTuber Kaylin Ivy’s method of stretching her wash-and-go, and, well, I just had to try it!

Unfortunately, this method did not work for me (LOL!). It stretched my hair TOO much. I ended up having to ponytail it. It had no definition, and it looked like a ponytailed Afro — no waves/coils/curls detectable whatsoever.

 

Oh, well! It was DEFINITELY worth a try. I feel that method would be good for stretching my hair overnight IF I were planning on roller setting, flexirod setting, or twisting my hair the next morning/day.

Today’s Styling Practice!

Since my hair was so stretched ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜› , I decided to take advantage of the situation and get some styling practice in! As I noted in the “Hair Goals” section at the “Hairography” page of this blog, two of my goals are to be able to (1) do a beautiful flat twist-out and (2) do a beautiful My Curl Squad (aka spoolie) roller set.

To those ends, today I installed a My Curl Squad spoolie using Camille Rose Naturals “Style Setter” and one using Design Essentials Almond & Avocado Curl Enhancing Mousse. I also installed a flat twist, using Camille Rose Naturals “Style Setter.”

I’m so glad I learned the VALUABLE LESSON of the importance of PATCH TESTING a product or style or technique at first, before doing the whole head!

The same person who shared the above wng stretching video ALSO shared with me an “easy flat twisting method” video (linked below). It helped! Today’s practice flat twist is the best one I’ve installed to-date! (Please see the large pictures below.)

Don’t LET me get this flat twist out thing mastered in Quarter/Phase 1 of the Study, now! ๐Ÿ˜€

Be sure to check out YouTuber Hazel Goddess’s flat twist out tutorial linked below!

WP_20170609_014WP_20170609_034WP_20170609_032WP_20170609_020WP_20170609_021WP_20170609_041

WP_20170609_017

YouTuber Hazel Goddess’s Flat Twist Tutorial Video That Helped Me Install Today’s Flat Twist

Leave a Reply

