[2017-Jun-10] Styling Practice Results

— What’s your favorite style in which to wear your hair?
— Can you flat twist? If so, how did you learn?
— Do you have styling skills you are trying to obtain? If so, what are they?

Below are the results of yesterday’s styling practice.

On the LEFT SIDE OF MY HAIR is the result of rolling a section of damp hair in a My Curl Squad spoolie using Design Essentials Almond & Avocado Curl Enhancing Mousse. I simply brushed the mousse through before wrapping the section of hair tautly around the spoolie. It didn’t fully dry overnight, and it looked more like stretched wash-and-go coils than a stretched roller set curl.

On the RIGHT, FRONT SIDE OF MY HAIR is the result of rolling a section of damp hair in a My Curl Squad spoolie using Camille Rose Naturals Coconut Water “Style Setter.” I simply brushed the butter through before wrapping the section of hair tautly around the spoolie. It dried fully. It definitely looked like a stretched, smoothed, roller set curl.

On the RIGHT SIDE ABOVE MY EAR is the result of flat-twisting my hair using Camille Rose Naturals Coconut Water “Style Setter.” I simply brushed the butter through and then flat twisted the section. It dried fully. I liked the definition.

My Reflections

While the LEFT SIDE (mousse) FELT REALLY, REALLY GOOD, the right side felt good, too. The left side (mousse) did not produce a smooth enough curl, in my opinion, given the work of having rolled the hair. However, perhaps it would have come out great if I had waited and given the hair more time to dry fully.

I don’t know if I would wear a spoolie set as a hairstyle. I noticed that they produce a similar result on my hair as do flexirods, however, the spoolies “sleep” much better than flexirods (i.e., the spoolies are completely comfortable to sleep in). I can see myself using a spoolie set to stretch my hair before getting a trim or to keep my hair stretched to prevent tangle-causing shrinkage. I’d likely ponytail the spoolie set up and wear side tendrils.

I hope to soon try a full flat twist out, initially following YouTuber MahoganyCurls’s Large Flat Twistout Tutorial. This would allow me to section my hair like I always do (5 sections on each side) and simply twist those up. I’d rather start out practicing with installing 10 large twists than 20-30 twists, since I’m learning. 🙂

  • What’s your favorite style in which to wear your hair?
  • Can you flat twist? If so, how did you learn?
  • Do you have styling skills you are trying to obtain? If so, what are they?

As always, many, many blessings . . . and happy healthy hair journeying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

